11 digital TV operators given reprieve for license fee payment extension

The National Broadcasting and Telecommunications Commission (NBTC) has agreed to extend the deadline for 11 digital TV operators to pay their license fees.

The 11 digital TV operators are New TV channel of DN Broadcasting Company, Nation channel of NBC Nextvision Company, NOW Channel of Bangkok Business Broadcasting Company, Bright TV channel of Bright TV Company, Mcot Family channel of Mcot, Mono 29 channel of Mono Broadcasting Company, Voice TV channel of Voice TV Company, Thai Rath TV channel of Triple V Broadcasting Company, PPTV HD channel of Bangkok Media and Broadcasting Company, Channel 8 of RS Television Company.

Takorn Tanthasit, secretary-general of the NBTC, said that the broadcasting regulator was also considering the request for deadline extension from another digital TV operator.

On top of that, nine digital TV operators have sought financial support from NBTC for the transmission of digital TV signals under the Must Carry arrangement.

Source: Thai Public Broadcasting Service (Thai PBS)

Post Author: tmadmin