Cabinet Acknowledges Further Relaxation of COVID-19 Control Measures

The Cabinet on 23 February 2021 acknowledged the further relaxation of COVID-19 control measures by allowing more venues and businesses to reopen in four designated zones, following a proposal by the Center for COVID-19 Situation Administration (CCSA).


Samut Sakhon province remains the only maximum and strict control area. As for control areas, they comprise eight provinces, namely Bangkok, Samut Prakan, Samut Songkhram, Nonthaburi, Nakhon Pathom, Pathum Thani, Tak, and Ratchaburi.


High surveillance areas consist of 14 provinces, namely Kanchanaburi, Suphan Buri, Ayutthaya, Saraburi, Nakhon Nayok, Chachoengsao, Phetchaburi, Ranong Chon Buri, Rayong, Chumphon, Songkhla, Yala, and Narathiwat. The remaining 54 provinces have been designated surveillance areas.


Meanwhile, the Bangkok Metropolitan Administration (BMA) has decided to ease control measures in Bangkok, as one of the eight control areas, in line with the proposal by the CCSA. The relaxation of control measures is effective as of 23 February 2021.


Under the decision, restaurants and food shops, entertainment places, pubs, bars, and karaoke venues, as well as bath and massage parlors, may open until 23.00 hr. The sale and consumption of alcoholic drinks and music performances are also allowed, but dancing is prohibited.


Gyms, sports facilities, and fitness centers may open, and training and competitions may be organized, with a limited number of spectators.


Banquet, meeting, and training venues may open and be organized, with no more than 300 participants. The organizing of these events with over 300 participants needs authorization from the District Office.


All schools, child care centers, and pre-school child development centers may open as usual, under control measures.



Source: The Government Public Relations Department

Post Author: web Desk